Everything you need to know about Open Access! Principles, objectives and legal aspects.

What is Open Access?

There are two kinds of Open Access strategy:

  • The Gold road: a paper is published in Open Access from the start; this approach can be funded in different ways: “author pays” model, institutional funding, freemium type business model (e.g. HTML free of charge but a fee for PDF). In real terms for the researcher, this offers the possibility of publishing:
    • in an Open Access journal subject to payment of Article Processing Charges (APC);
    • in an Open Access Journal without charges (the OpenEdition platform, overlay journals),
    • din a hybrid journal, a subscription journal with a paid OA option, where articles are published open access only on payment of an APC. However, be aware that this approach ultimately costs double (double-dipping), since the institution ends up paying twice: once for the subscription and once for the article, sometimes even several times for several articles…

Most of the big publishers offer this system under different names:

  Article Sponsorship for Elsevier,
  OpenChoice for Springer,
  OnlineOpen for Wiley,
  Open Select for Taylor & Francis.
  Here is a list kept on the Sherpa/Romeo website.
 

The APCs for a hybrid or pure Open Access journal can be borne by the project funder. This is notably the case for Horizon 2020 projects, which in fact require open access sharing, whether gold or green.

  • The Green road: here it is the authors themselves who self-archive their publications in an open repository. This may be their own institution’s repository or the national HAL archive. It may also be a discipline-specific repository such as Arxiv, Repec, SocArxiv, or else OSFPreprints which can query several preprint servers.

Keep calm and self-archive your papers, the law is on your side...

The Loi pour une République Numérique (Digital Republic Act, No. 2016-1321) was finally adopted by Parliament on 28 September 2016 and came into effect on 7 October. One article in this Act concerns you directly as researchers, since it covers the self-archiving of publications. The clause in question is Article 30, which amends the Research Code.

This article, which relates to Open Access, can be translated as follows:

When a scientific writing resulting from a research activity at least half funded by state grants, territorial authorities or public institutions, by subsidies from national funding agencies or by European Union funds, is included in a periodical that is published at least once a year, the author has the right, even after granting exclusive rights to a publisher, to make the final accepted version of their manuscript available free of charge in digital form and in open format, provided that the publisher itself also makes that manuscript available free of charge in digital form or, if not, at the expiry of a time period starting from the date of first publication. This period is a maximum of six months for publication in the domains of science, technology and medicine, and 12 months in the domain of the social sciences and humanities.

The version made available in application of the first paragraph may not be exploited within the framework of a commercial publishing activity. (...)

Previously, the right for researchers to deposit their publications in an open archive depended very much on publishers’ policy in this respect, which was set out in publishing contracts or on the Sherpa/Romeo and Héloïse platforms. The situation was not always simple, since it was necessary to identify which version could be shared (preprint, postprint, publisher PDF) and from when (on publication or after an embargo).

Thanks to the Act, the situation is now much simpler! In practical terms, the 4 key points to retain from Article 30 are as follows:

  • Article 30 only applies to journal articles, and the possibility of self-archiving applies only to the postprint (the final accepted version );
  • if the publisher of a journal imposes an embargo for the postprint of more than six months in the case of a journal in the science, technology or medical domains, or 12 months in the case of a journal in the social sciences and humanities, this constraint can be overcome because it is the law that takes precedence! In fact, the embargo period can be reduced systematically to 6 months for STEM and 12 months for SSH;
  • once the publisher has itself placed the article in Open Access on its own website (Gold or delayed Open Access), the author can deposit the postprint without further delay. Of course, this deposit is not essential to the sharing of science, but it is an additional guarantee of continuing access to the file;
  • finally, given that no commercial exploitation is possible, documents deposited via social media networks such as ResearchGate or Academia are not covered by the Act.

As mentioned above, the Act only applies to articles, or to any scientific writing published in a periodical that comes out at least once a year. For other kinds of documents such as books or conference proceedings, the contracts and policies of publishers remain the reference.

The published article must be the product of research at least half funded by grants from the state, territorial authorities or public institutions, by subsidies from national funding agencies or by European Union funds, and the researchers concerned must be exercising in France.

Finally, interpretations differ, but it would seem that the law is not retroactive, so there is no point rushing to deposit all the postprints of your old articles (one never knows…); it therefore applies to all articles published since 8 October 2016. And all publishing contracts signed since 8 October 2016 with embargoes of more than 6 or 12 months are deemed not to have been written.

  Download the poster produced jointly by Ecole des Ponts and UPEM
                 for Open Access Week 2016 (NB: a fairly large PDF file…)
 
 
 
 
 

Follow the Ecole des Ponts mandate for the sharing of science

Ecole des Ponts has implemented the favorable legal framework of the Digital Republic Act to found its commitment to Open Access on a mandate that stipulates an obligation of Open Access dissemination (Open Access Gold or Green). This obligation applies to:

  • articles published in peer-reviewed journals with the obligation to publish in Open Access or to deposit the final accepted version in an Open Archive within 6 months for STEM or 12 months for SSH;
  • conference proceedings with the obligation to deposit the proceedings in an Open Archive within 6 months for STEM or 12 months for SSH, according to the terms allowed by the publisher.

This obligation came into force on 1 March 2017, without retroactive effect.

  Click here to download the full text of the mandate

Watch out for predatory journals!

Among the Open Access periodicals that charge for access, there are predatory journals that exploit the author pays model somewhat unscrupulously. In general, they pursue – sometimes harass – researchers by email, claiming to guarantee rapid dissemination of their articles.

There are several ways to avoid getting trapped:

  • be wary when you receive a lot of flattering and enticing emails;
  • look at the 2 lists drawn up by Jeffrey Beall, a librarian at Colorado University, who investigated the doubtful cases he encountered or was told about. His blog is no longer online, but has been kept on Internet Archive. One list contains dubious publishers, the other dubious journals;
  • consult the DOAJ, the Directory of Open Access Journals;
  • Apply the recommendations on the Think Check Submit website.

Get started and share your publications

The Scholarly Communication unit can help you…

… by organizing workshops in your laboratory and answering all your questions. Send us an email or open a chat to try to get an immediate answer.

A video tutorial for deposits in HAL

CCSD (Centre for Direct Scientific Communication), the CNRS unit in charge of HAL, has produced a very comprehensive video tutorial to teach you how to upload a document to HAL.

Creating a HAL CV or your idHAL

   Go to HAL page in the researcher area of the website.

To find Open Access literature

First of all, our search engine is set up to propose Open Access publications when it identifies them. Moreover, Google Scholar also prioritizes OA versions.

In addition, there are databases that combine several open archives. This is the case for the biggest of them – BASE – and for CORE. You can also consult OpenAire or Paperity.

It is easy to set up your browser with extensions that immediately identify whether these databases include an Open Access version of the document you are looking for.

Follow our tutorial to optimize your web browser and never find yourself short of resources.

Qu’est-ce que l’Open Access ?

On distingue communément deux stratégies pour le libre accès :
  • la voie gold : la publication se fait nativement en Open Access ; le financement de ce principe peut revêtir plusieurs formes : modèle auteur-payeur, subvention institutionnelle, modèle économique de type freemium (HTML gratuit mais PDF payant, par exemple). Concrètement pour le chercheur, cela se traduit par la possibilité de publier :
    • dans une revue Open Access moyennant le paiement de frais (APC, Article Processing Charges),
    • dans une revue Open Access sans frais (plate-forme revues.org, épi-revues),
    • dans une revue hybride, une revue avec abonnement mais qui diffuse certains articles en Open Access moyennant le paiement de frais. Mais attention à ce principe, il est au final doublement coûteux puisque l’établissement finit par payer 2 fois : une fois l’abonnement et une fois l’article, parfois même plusieurs fois pour plusieurs articles…
La plupart des grands éditeurs proposent ce principe sous des noms différents :
   Article Sponsorship pour Elsevier,
   OpenChoice chez Springer,
   OnlineOpen chez Wiley,
   Open Select pour Taylor & Francis.
 
   Voici une liste maintenue sur le site Sherpa/Romeo.
 
Les frais (APCs), pour une revue hybride ou pure Open Access, peuvent être pris en charge par le financeur d’un projet. C’est le cas pour les projets Horizon 2020 notamment, qui d’ailleurs impose le partage en libre accès, par la voie gold ou green. 
 
  • la voie green : elle correspond à l’auto-archivage de la publication, par l’auteur lui-même, dans une archive ouverte. Il peut s’agir de l’archive de son établissement ou encore de l’archive nationale HAL. Cela peut aussi être une archive disciplinaire comme Arxiv, Repec, SocArxiv, ou encore OSFPreprints qui interroge plusieurs serveurs de preprints.
 
 

Keep calm and self-archive your papers, la loi est avec vous…

La Loi pour une République Numérique (n°2016-1321) a été définitivement adoptée par le Parlement le 28 septembre 2016 et promulguée le 7 octobre. Un article de cette loi vous concerne directement, vous chercheurs, puisqu'il porte sur l'auto-archivage des publications. Il s'agit de l'article 30 qui modifie le Code de la Recherche.
 
L'article 30 qui concerne l'Open Access est rédigé comme suit :
Lorsqu'un écrit scientifique issu d'une activité de recherche financée au moins pour moitié par des dotations de l'Etat, des collectivités territoriales ou des établissements publics, par des subventions d'agences de financement nationales ou par des fonds de l'Union européenne est publié dans un périodique paraissant au moins une fois par an, son auteur dispose, même après avoir accordé des droits exclusifs à un éditeur, du droit de mettre à disposition gratuitement dans un format ouvert, par voie numérique, sous réserve de l'accord des éventuels coauteurs, la version finale de son manuscrit acceptée pour publication, dès lors que l'éditeur met lui-même celle-ci gratuitement à disposition par voie numérique ou, à défaut, à l'expiration d'un délai courant à compter de la date de la première publication. Ce délai est au maximum de six mois pour une publication dans le domaine des sciences, de la technique et de la médecine et de douze mois dans celui des sciences humaines et sociales.
 
La version mise à disposition en application du premier alinéa ne peut faire l'objet d'une exploitation dans le cadre d'une activité d'édition à caractère commercial. (...)"
 
La possibilité par les chercheurs de déposer leurs publications en archive ouverte dépendait jusque-là très étroitement de la politique des éditeurs en la matière, ces derniers déclarant leur position dans les contrats d'édition ou encore sur les plates-formes Sherpa/Romeo et Héloïse. La situation n'était pas toujours simple puisqu'il fallait repérer quelle version il était autorisé de partager (preprint, postprint, PDF éditeur) et à partir de quand (à la publication ou après un embargo).
 
Grâce à la Loi, la situation est désormais beaucoup plus simple ! 
 
Concrètement, les 4 points importants à retenir de l'article 30 sont les suivants :
  • l'article 30 ne porte que sur les articles de revue, et la possibilité d'auto-archivage ne concerne que le postprint (la version finale acceptée), 
  • si l'éditeur d'une revue impose pour le postprint un embargo supérieur à 6 mois pour une revue en Sciences, Techniques et Médecine ou 12 mois pour une revue en Sciences Humaines et Sociales, il est possible de s'affranchir de cette contrainte parce que c'est la loi qui prévaut ! Le délai d'embargo peut en effet être systématiquement réduit à 6 mois pour les STM et 12 mois pour les SHS,
  • dès lors que l'article est mis en Open Access par l'éditeur lui-même sur son site (voie Gold ou mise en Libre Accès tardive), l'auteur peut déposer le postprint sans plus attendre. Ce dépôt n'est certes pas indispensable au partage de la science, mais c'est une garantie supplémentaire de pérennité sur l'accès au fichier,
  • enfin, dans la mesure où aucune exploitation commerciale n'est possible, le dépôt via les réseaux sociaux de type ResearchGate ou Academia n'est pas couvert par la Loi.
Comme signalé plus haut, la Loi ne porte que sur les articles, en tout cas, tout écrit scientifique publié dans un périodique paraissant au moins une fois par an. Il faut donc continuer de se référer aux contrats et politiques des éditeurs pour les autres types de documents comme les ouvrages ou encore les communications avec actes.
 
L'article publié doit être le fruit d'une recherche financée au moins pour moitié par des dotations de l'Etat, des collectivités territoriales ou des établissements publics, par des subventions d'agences de financement nationales ou par des fonds de l'Union européenne et les chercheurs concernés sont ceux qui exercent en France.
 
Enfin, les interprétations divergent, mais il semblerait qu’elle ne soit pas rétroactive ; inutile donc de vous précipiter pour déposer tous les postprints de vos anciens articles (on ne sait jamais…) ; elle vaut donc pour tous les articles publiés depuis le 8 octobre 2016. Et tous les contrats d'édition signés depuis le 8 octobre 2016 avec des embargos supérieurs à 6 ou 12 mois sont réputés non écrits.
  Télécharger le poster réalisé conjointement par l'Ecole des Ponts et l'UPEM
à l'occasion de l'Open Access Week 2016 (attention, fichier PDF un peu lourd...)
 
 
 
 
 
 

Respectez le mandat de l'Ecole des Ponts pour le partage de la science

L'Ecole des Ponts s'est appuyée sur le cadre juridique favorable de la Loi pour une République Numérique et a ancré son engagement en faveur de l'Open Access avec un mandat qui stipule une obligation de diffusion en libre accès (Open Access Gold ou Green). Cette obligation porte sur :
  • les articles publiés dans des revues à comité de lecture avec l’obligation de publier en Open Access ou de déposer la version finale acceptée en Archive Ouverte dans les 6 mois pour les STM ou 12 mois pour les SHS ;
  • les communications avec actes avec l’obligation de déposer en Archive Ouverte les actes dans les 6 mois pour les STM ou 12 mois pour les SHS, selon les modalités autorisées par l'éditeur.
 
Cette obligation a pris effet le 1er mars 2017, sans rétroactivité. 
 

Attention aux revues prédatrices !

Parmi les revues Open Access payantes, il existe des revues prédatrices qui exploitent le principe du modèle auteur-payeur de façon peu scrupuleuses. En général, elles sollicitent, parfois harcèlent, les chercheurs par mail, leur garantissant une diffusion rapide de leur article.
 
En réalité, il s’agit de revues dont les comités éditoriaux sont purement fictifs, parfois avec des vrais noms de chercheurs qui n’ont jamais donné leur accord, parfois avec de faux noms. Les noms de ces revues sont parfois très proches du nom de revues déjà existantes et reconnues par la communauté ce qui peut semer le trouble.
 
Pour éviter de se faire piéger, il existe plusieurs moyens :
  • se méfier lorsqu’on reçoit de nombreuses sollicitations flatteuses par mail,
  • consulter les 2 listes élaborées par un bibliothécaire de l’Université du Colorado de Jeffrey Beall, qui enquêtait sur les cas douteux qu’il rencontrait ou qu’on lui signalait. Son blog n'est plus en ligne mais a été conservé sur Internet Archive. Une liste recense les éditeurs suspects, l’autre les revues suspectes,
  • consulter le DOAJ, le répertoire qui recense les revues Open Access,
  • utiliser les recommandations du site Think Check Submit.
 

Passez à l’action et partagez vos publications

Le Pôle IST peut vous aider…

… en organisant des ateliers dans votre laboratoire et en répondant à toutes vos questions. 
Contactez-nous par mail ou pensez au tchat pour essayer d’avoir une réponse immédiate.

Un tutoriel vidéo pour le dépôt dans HAL

Le CCSD, l’unité du CNRS en charge de HAL a réalisé un tutoriel vidéo très complet pour apprendre à faire un dépôt dans HAL.

Création d'un CV HAL ou de son idHAL

 

Pour trouver de la littérature en Open Access

Tout d’abord, notre outil de recherche est paramétré pour proposer les publications en Open Access lorsqu’il les identifie. Il faut savoir par ailleurs que Google Scholar privilégie aussi les versions OA.
 
Il existe aussi des bases qui agrègent plusieurs archives ouvertes. C’est notamment le cas de la plus importante BASE ou encore de CORE. Vous pouvez aussi consulter OpenAire ou Paperity.
 
Un petit outil très simple (oaDOI) permet aussi en faisant un simple-copier coller du DOI à la suite de cette URL d’identifier la version Open Access d’un papier auquel il vous est impossible d’accéder : http://oadoi.org/10.xxx/xxx/xxx